Jimi Hendrix – Cry Of Love Album Review 2014 Release

Jimi Hendrix Cry Of Love 2014 Release ReviewOn September 18, 2014, Jimi Hendrix’s ‘Cry of Love’ album was re-released as a remastered version of the original 1972 vinyl issue. Awesome, because that day also marked my birthday (and sadly, Jimi’s death anniversary). I had pre-ordered the CD and couldn’t wait to get it delivered. Let me tell you, if you are familiar with the original ‘Cry of Love’ album, this new version will blow your mind. The sound is amazing. Since I had also purchased the new release of ‘Rainbow Bridge’, I was in for a double treat that day.

‘Cry of Love’, to me, stands out for a number of reasons. First and foremost, because it is a testament to Jimi’s ridiculous talent as a songwriter. Yes, of course, he also obviously knows a thing or two about playing the guitar, but he had that proven already many times before. The album also is a great platform to showcase his ability to work across a broad spectrum of musical styles. While all the tracks have that typical Jimi vibe, I think some of you would agree that there’s a resemblance – at least to a certain degree – with Axis: Bold as Love. I don’t think it fits the category of a ‘concept album’ but there is a strong underlying cohesiveness that pull the individual tunes together and make it a great ‘product’. I guess where I’m going with this: ‘Cry of Love’ works remarkably well as a whole, even though admittedly it does feature some tracks that just stand out by themselves, such as ‘Freedom’ and ‘In from the Storm’.

I categorically refuse to engage in or entertain any discussions such as “What is XYZ’s best record?”, etc. But some say that they view the ‘Cry of Love’ album as the last real Hendrix record. I can see why. The original was released shortly after Jimi’s death and all other albums thereafter either compilations or live recordings.

Here is the full track-list:

1. Freedom
2. Drifting
3. Ezy Rider
4. Night Bird Flying
5. My Friend
6. Straight Ahead
7. Astro Man
8. Angel
9. In From The Storm
10. Belly Button Window

Alright, I suppose most of the folks who will end up buying the 2014 version of ‘Cry of Love’ will be familiar with its content already. However, I still strongly recommend that your hands on it, because you will love the clarity of sound, even when you crank up the volume big-time. And yes, this goes for all the hard-core vinyl heads, too – we all love us some good old vinyl, I know, but there is something to be said for a re-mastered CD version of a legendary album if it makes the whole thing sound better and ever before.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top